More Soccer Cookies (and order of flooding…)

I made another two sets of Soccer Cookies for coaches (a different team than the previous soccer-related post), and these sets have navy, which I had never mixed previously, and has three colours on the jerseys; navy, red, and white. There is also black piping on the cleats and whistle.

Soccer Cookies by Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

I consulted Sweet Sugarbelle’s color mixing chart and was surprised to note there was also violet in the formula (6 parts royal blue, 3 parts violet, 2 parts black). I would not have guessed that, but …    …fortunately had some on hand. I was starting with the leftover blue icing from the previous soccer set, which consisted of Royal Blue Wilton gel with a little black. I mixed together both the previously-coloured piping and flood icing, then added some fresh white icing to bring it up to 2 cups total. I had a rough remembrance of how much royal blue gel I had added previously, so I “guesstimated” what the volume of “3 parts violet” and “2 parts black” would be, then added slightly less than those volumes. I ended up adding a little more Royal Blue as well. The final colour looked more like a steel blue, but I decided I wasn’t going to obsess about it. (Shocking, I know, to those that know me!) However, I realized when I flooded that the color could pass as navy. Yippee!!

Two of the previously baked jerseys, for which I had used the cookie press to mark piping lines, had broken in storage, so I decided to start anew. (And of course my husband was very pleased to take them off my hands…) This time I just baked plain jerseys and used the iPad Camera Lucida app to transfer the piping lines. I used a Wilton food safe marker. When deciding on the order of piping the individual segments, I chose to go from darkest to lightest icing. I used the dehydrator for 20 minutes between each colour and let the cookie sit a further few hours between each colour application in an attempt to avoid colour bleeding. However, I got it all done in one day. (Have I mentioned that I love my dehydrator?)

Navy piping and flood

Navy piping and flood

Soccer jersey with flood lines

Soccer jersey with flood lines

Completed Jersey

Completed Jersey

Red piping and flood started...

Red piping and flood started…

I realized after  I piped the outline on the cleats that on the previous set (of course), I must have used the image of cleats from Emma’s Sweets that I found on Cookie Connection , rather than my plan sketch, because I found the cleats from the previous set more realistic. Oh well… However, this time I actually thought to add the spikes to the soles. Maybe that makes up for it…?

Cleat with spikes

Cleat with spikes

I thought the set turned out well and I hope the coaches and their families enjoy them! It really does make it all worthwhile when I see the coaches own child excitedly carrying home the gift box!

Packaged Soccer Coach Sets 2014

Packaged Soccer Coach Sets 2014


About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Soccer Cookies, Sport Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Soccer Cookies (and order of flooding…)

  1. Pingback: Soccer Cookies | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

Leave a Reply

