Teacher Appreciation Week Word Puzzle Cookies

My children’s elementary school holds a “Teacher Appreciation Week” around Valentine’s Day annually, and parents bring in food for the teacher’s and support staff to enjoy in the staff room every day. This cookie idea was initially inspired in 2010 by one of these teacher’s, when he gave his class some “Wordles” (brain teaser word puzzles) to bring home, and our whole family enjoyed solving the “puzzles”. I made “Wordle Cookies”/Word Puzzle Cookies that year for Teacher Appreciation Week.

Word Puzzle Cookie 2 by Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

Five years have passed, and some staff have changed at the school, so I decided to make another set of Teacher Appreciation Word Puzzle Cookies, but with different brain teasers on them…

When I made this type of cookie previously, I did not own a dehydrator and I recall having some colour bleed from the coloured piping onto the white base.  I purchased an Excalibur  3926 TCBD this past summer and it seems to help with decreasing colour bleed.  I also likely used more gel colouring in 2010 than needed. I am learning to cut back on the amount of gel added because colours really do dry darker than the wet icing appears; it’s a matter of “faith” that I am learning to trust. As an experiment, to see if I am really improving, I used the same colours as before. They were created using Wilton Royal Blue and Leaf Green.  (They are the school colours.)

Using the internet as a resource, I came up with 20 word puzzles which I had not previously used. I used my “old” Print Shop 22 software to create two sheets to accompany the set, one of which has the 20 puzzle questions (in case someone wants to know what all the puzzles were after some of the cookies have been eaten), and the other is an answer key. I also designed a colour-coordinated card.

Word Puzzle Cookie 1 by Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

 

Previously the cookie shapes were rectangles and circles, and on some of the puzzles, there was a significant amount of blank space to fill in. To change things up, I decided to go with squares, and a few smaller plain hearts to accent. I used the Camera Lucida iPad app to transfer the puzzles more accurately to the cookies. In 2010 I free-handed them.

Word Puzzle Cookie 3 by Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

 

I am really pleased with how this set turned out and can’t wait to drop them off at the school next week! Into the freezer they go, for now…

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Teacher Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teacher Appreciation Week Word Puzzle Cookies

  1. Pingback: Adding a “Watermark” with Power Point | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

  2. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Cookies | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

  3. Pingback: Basketball Coach Thank You Cookies | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

Leave a Reply

