How to Bake Cookies on a Stick


My daughter’s basketball season just ended and I am scrambling to get “Thank You” cookies done. We weren’t sure when the season was going to end, and since the coach couldn’t find local teams to play my daughter’s team, he decided to finish up earlier than last year. My husband helps coach this team and he prefers gingerbread cookies. I decided to do a “cookie bouquet”, as these are visually appealing, and either I or my husband can transport/carry it for our daughter. If I were making cookies for her to take to school on the bus, I would not be making a “bouquet”.

CheerfulMomma's Basketball Coach Thank You Cookie Bouquets 2014

I have tried a few methods for making cookies on a stick / cookie pops. This method works best for me.

Equipment needed:

  • batch of gingerbread cookie dough, chilled
  • parchment paper
  • wide masking tape
  • long rolling pin (mine is 17 1/2″ long, not including handles)
  • wooden dowels (3/8″ diameter, when doing cookies on a stick)
  • pastry brush
  • plain dental floss
  • cookie sticks (Wilton)
  • cookie cutters
  • plate with flour for cutters/spatula
  • spatula
  • insulated cookie sheets
  • cooling racks
  • oven mitts
  • timerCooking rolling equipmentI roll the dough a bit thicker than usual to accommodate the cookie sticks. I do not use flour to roll out the dough, but tape a large piece of parchment to the counter with masking tape. To roll to a uniform thickness, I place 3/8″ diameter wooden dowels on either side of the dough. I draw a piece of plain (non-flavoured) dental floss under the dough to loosen it before I cut out the cookies. Dough with parchment and dowels

After cutting the cookie, I place it near the edge of the counter using a lightly floured spatula, still on the parchment, and gently roll the stick and push the stick into the cookie about 4 cm (1 1/2″), while having one hand on top of the cookie to support it. If the top of the cookie distorts a bit from my fingers, I use a lightly floured spatula to gently flatten it down again. If the edge/outline of the cookie distorts, I use the cookie cutter to gently get it back to the original shape as best as I can.

Inserting cookie stick

I place it on a parchment-lined insulated cookie sheet and freeze for about 8 minutes. I can usually only place 3 to 4 large cookies on each 14 x 16″ cookie sheet. Once the cookies are frozen, I flip them over and place a small patch of dough on the back, over the cookie stick, to reinforce.

Back of cookie with stick, unbaked

Back of unbaked cookie, with dough patchBrush off any loose flour with the pastry brush. Flip the cookie back over and bake as per the recipe used. Allow to cool completely on the cookie sheet, then move carefully to a cooling rack using a spatula. Decorate as desired.

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Cookie Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Bake Cookies on a Stick

  1. Pingback: How to Arrange a Cookie Bouquet | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

  2. Pingback: Basketball Coach Thank You Cookies | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

Leave a Reply

