Teacher Cookies

My daughter spied a set of Teacher Cookies from Coastal Cookie Shoppe (formerly East Coast Cookies) and wanted to replicate it for her teacher. (I am a big fan of this cookier! Her sets have lots of imagination, and fit perfectly in the clear top boxes I have sourced.)

Boxed Teacher Cookie Gift Set 1

Since my daughter is in French Immersion, we piped the wording in French. For those of you who cannot read French, the yellow plaques translate to: “Some teachers deserve an apple…but you deserve the whole tree!”

I decided to try flooding the larger cookies a bit differently with this set, as I had a problem with the larger cookies of the Doctor Cookies set. The flooding had a tendency to collapse near the center, when dried. This time, once the outline was piped, I did one “round” of flooding, touching the piped edge (so that the piped outline would blend into the flooding) then switched to flooding from the center outward, using the tip of the squeeze bottle to help spread out. I made certain that the flooding was denser toward the center of the cookie. Once I got closer to the piped edge, I pulled the flooding over with a toothpick to make contact.

Thank You Teacher Plaque 2Thank You Teacher Plaque 1

I also had a problem with shifting of the flooding on some of the Doctor cookies, so this time I was very careful not to move the cookies once they had been placed in a certain spot in the dehydrator. I also let them cool completely in the dehydrator, before moving them off the dehydrator tray, using a spatula.

Thank You Teacher Apple EnglishThank You Teacher Apple French

The colour black is what unifies the set, as it is present on every cookie. I used some chocolate-tinted icing, which was then darkened with black Wilton food colouring gel, to make the black icing. The black lines on the tree “foliage” and trunk were painted on using a small paint brush and undiluted gel food colouring. I decided to play it safe and not place any of the “apples” on top of the painted gel, as the apples were piped (not RI transfers), and I didn’t want bleeding of the black gel into the apples.

Apple TreeIndividual Apple

I love the “cartoon effect” that the black piping gives the cookies. I also enjoyed painting the details on the tree.

I made a coordinating card for my daughter’s home room teacher, and used the same background to make packaging for individual cookies for other teachers and administrators. I am sure they will be pleased with the treats!

Boxed Teacher Cookie Gift Set

Happy Cookie-ing!!

Cheerful Momma

Print Shop Framed Logo Cropped

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Teacher Cookies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

