Soccer Cookies

I wanted to change up the design of the Soccer Cookies for this year’s thank you gift cookie set for my daughter’s soccer coach. I knew I would be pressed for time and wanted a simple, but eye-catching custom design. Limiting the number of icing colours and the number of decorating steps would speed things up. (I did use a different variety of cut out dough this time, however, opting to try chocolate chip. I may post about it in the future.)

 Soccer Cookie Platter Unpackaged Top Layer

I love the simplicity of stick people and came across a cookie set on Cookie Connection, by member “Liesbet”, which was my inspiration. I happened to find a jpeg file of the exact same soccer stick people which were used in the inspiration set, in an image online.

Inspiration picture found on Cookie Connection, made by member "Liesbet".

Inspiration picture found on Cookie Connection, made by member “Liesbet”.

I decided to make round cookies as a design nod to soccer…ahem…the round ball, if you don’t get my meaning. I also decided to add a simple green line and a few squiggles of grass, so the players weren’t just standing in a vacuum, and to add a third colour to the design. (My daughter’s team had a white shirt this year, so I couldn’t use her uniform colour as inspiration, LOL.)

Soccer stick figure heading ball cookieDribbling soccer stick figure cookieCrying soccer player stick figure cookieFoot handling soccer stick figure cookieChest strike soccer player stick figure cookieCheering Soccer Player Stick Figures

I wanted to add another cookie shape to the set and decided on speech bubbles, as I noted this year’s coach to be particularly positive when calling out to the players on the field.

Great job speech bubble cookieTeam work speech bubble cookiePass it speech bubble cookieGood try speech bubble cookie

To decorate the plaque, I used a 1″ round white Royal Icing transfer which I made at some time in the past with leftover icing. I projected the image of a soccer ball onto the transfer using my Kopy Kake and used a black food writer maker to mark the patches on the ball. The disc was then affixed to the plaque and the black lines and patches were piped with a no. 2 PME tip.

Soccer thank you plaque cookie

If you are curious as to how this more simple set compares to some that I consider relatively more complicated, here are some links to my previous soccer cookie sets, which included custom colour mixing and multiple steps in flooding: herehere and here .

I made a lovely accompanying card on heavy cardstock, incorporating some of the stick figures used on the cookies in the design. I included a list of ingredients in the card, in case someone has food allergies and a “Best Before” date. (Last year I started putting a paper with a list of ingredients and best-before information inside  clear-top box sets, only to discover later that a particular recipient was so honoured to receive the gift, he waited quite a while before opening the package!) I realized after I printed this card that I had forgotten something on the ingredient list. Can you guess what it is?

Card front

Personalized card front

Card interior

Card interior

These Soccer Cookies were particularly fun to make, and I think I will likely do more stick figure cookie sets in the future!

Packaged Soccer Cookies

Happy Cookie-ing!!

Cheerful Momma

Print Shop Framed Logo Cropped

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Soccer Cookies, Thank You Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soccer Cookies

  1. Pingback: Cartoon Basketball Cookies | Cheerful Momma's Custom Art Cookies

Leave a Reply

