Halloween Cookies

My daughter and I designed a set of Halloween cookies as a fundraiser for charity and took reservations. For now we design around what we can fit in a single layer in an 8 ½” x 11″ clear top box, as this is easiest for us to safely transport multiple sets when delivering to our “customers”. (I put the word customers in quotation marks as I don’t see this as a business, per say, although I suppose maybe our supporters do…)

Spider and Web Cookie by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

This design idea started with an inspiration Halloween card that featured a ghost and spider. Several weeks ago I made 3 different sizes of Royal Icing transfer spider bodies, using some leftover black-tinted chocolate icing. We live in a very humid area, surrounded by ocean, so it takes quite a while for RI transfers to dry out for us.

The actual spider cookie caused me a little bit of unexpected angst. As I prepared to decorate the cookie, I realized that, to me, it looked more like a beetle or a fly. It was listed as a spider cookie cutter on the Golda’s Kitchen online store…

Spider

I did a little surgery on the baked cookies, removing the last set of legs, to try and improve the situation. I wasn’t entirely thrilled with the final result, but really, it’s only a cookie. (If I had realized earlier my dissatisfaction with the blank cookie shape, I would have removed the hind legs prior to baking as it gives a superior result.) I added candy coated chocolate pieces for eyes, as I hadn’t mixed up the orange icing yet.  To create fuzzy/hairy appearance of spider legs on the supposed spider cookies, I sprinkled black sanding sugar on the wet legs. I think it looks like a fly, but, whatever; it still takes yummy!

Spider Cookie by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

I thought it would be funny to have the ghost and pumpkin cookies appear to be scared of the spider transfers.

Unpackaged Halloween Cookies by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

The packaged set includes a corny spider-themed knock-knock joke:

“Knock, knock
Who’s there?
Spider
Spider who?
I tried to hide the cookies, but you spider!”

 Packaged Halloween Cookies by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

The lesson that I drew from this cookie set was to finalize my decorating plan sketch before baking so that adjustments don’t need to be made to baked cookie shapes.

Happy Cookie-ing!!

Cheerful Momma

Print Shop Framed Logo Cropped

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Cookies, Halloween Cookies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

