Easter Cookies

Oh, there is something so lovely about a white rabbit and pastel-coloured cookies, heralding Easter and the promise of spring! (It truly is only a promise, since today, the first supposed full day of spring, we are experiencing a Nor’easter!) This set of decorated Easter Cookies was designed to be sold for charity fundraising. Once again, I tried to simplify the design, this time by incorporating the use of Royal Icing transfers.

Easter Cookies by Yarmouth Charity Cookies close up

Royal icing transfers can be made well in advance, stored, and then used at the time of decorating.  I made the bows, bunny tails and small daisies two to three weeks in advance, to give them ample time to dry completely.

Easter Cookies Unpackaged Set by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

I stencilled details on the eggs with Royal Icing, placing these after the flooding had dried overnight. I made the stencil used to decorate the eggs myself, from a pdf file of a vintage floral pattern shared by Sweet Sugarbelle, and my Silhouette Cameo cutting machine. I am really enjoying the ability to make my own stencils. (Stencilling with Royal Icing requires that the stencil be cleaned after each use, which slows decorating down a bit. However, mixing colours, getting the right icing consistency and preparing piping bags also takes time…so I’m not sure yet what I prefer!)

Easter Cookies Packaged Set by Yarmouth Charity Cookies

I did try “antiquing” the eggs in one set with cocoa powder, but neither my husband nor daughter liked the appearance so I didn’t do any more sets that way. (Sorry, I didn’t take a picture.)

Happy Cookie-ing!!

Cheerful Momma

Print Shop Framed Logo Cropped

About CheerfulMomma

I am a Royal-Icing-decorated-cookie hobbyest/addict, who works part-time in Healthcare, and full-time tending to my husband, three school-aged children and one lovely Barbet (French Water Dog). I live in rural Nova Scotia, Canada.
This entry was posted in Animal Cookies, Easter Cookies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

